County of Kauai, State of Hawaii
Bringing Government to the People

site map   |   location
Kama'aina Visiting Government (You are here) Business E-Services  
Kauai County Government: Kauai County government resources and information.  
2 images merged: Kapule Building, traffic


  Menu Controls»   Expand All   Collapse All   Complete Site Map   Bottom of page menu

  Motor Vehicle Registration Information Minimize

General Information

 

Registration records of all vehicles in Hawaii must be updated annually.

 

Annual fees are based on the vehicle weight and usage.  They are computed by the Treasury Division, Motor Vehicle Section.

 

The deadline for registering vehicles is the last working day of the expiration month of the current registration.  However, if the registration expiration date occurs on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the delinquent renewal penalty fee will not be charged until after the next working day.

 

A penalty will be assessed if fees are not paid on or before the expiration date. The penalty shall be 20% of the County Weight Tax and 20% of the State Weight Tax.

 

Make checks payable to Director of Finance. Proof of Hawaii motor vehicle insurance is required to obtain a vehicle inspection, and the vehicle inspection sticker and certificate are necessary to operate a vehicle on all Hawaii roads and for all vehicle ownership-registration transactions.

 

Non-resident active duty military personnel must submit a properly completed Non-Resident Certificate, Form DF-L(MVR) 50, for each registration, renewal or transfer or transaction.

 

*Form DF-L(MVR) 50 is available from your military personnel office or your military unit.

 

 

 

Registration Renewal

 

Registration records of all vehicles in Hawaii must be updated annually. You can renew your motor vehicle registration in person or by mail. If your registration is within 45 days of the expiration date, you can renew online at https://mvr.ehawaii.gov/renewals/kauai.

 

 

 

Hawaii Motor Vehicle Inquiry

 

To inquire about a motor vehicle in the state of Hawaii, please go here.

 

Or pay by mail to

County of Kauai

Treasury Division (MVR)

4444 Rice St., Ste 466

Lihue, HI 96766-1340

(When mailing the registration application to you, the County provides a self-addressed envelope)

 

 

 

Registering New Vehicles Bought from Kauai Dealer

 

You may pay your fee:

  • By cash, check, money order, traveler’s check or cashier’s check.  There is a $7.50 service fee for returned checks.
  • But not by credit card.

 

 

Out of State Permit - must have the following

 

 

When you buy a new vehicle on Kauai, the dealer will probably have it registered and licensed for you.  But if this service is not provided, this is what you must do:

  • Fill out an Application for Registration, Form DF-L(MVR) 1, which must be signed by you, the registered owner(s) and countersigned by a licensed Kauai vehicle dealer.
  • Submit a Hawaii Vehicle Inspection Certificate.
  • If you are an active duty service member stationed in Hawaii and a non-resident of this state, you must submit the Non-Resident Certificate, Form DF-L(MVR) 50, available from your military personnel office or your military unit.
  • Vehicle registration personnel will determine the required fees.
  • Current out-of-state registration
  • Shipping document (Bill of Laden)
  • Fill out and sign the Out-of-State Vehicle Permit application Form
  • HI safety inspection

 

 

In lieu of Out of State permit - RO must produce the following for vehicle currently registered out of State

 

 

If your vehicle is registered in Kauai and you have recently received a renewal application form, you may renew your vehicle registration in person at the Kapule Building between 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.:

 

  • Title (if available) – need signature of all owners for issuance of HI title
  • Current Safety Inspection
  • Current out-of-state registration (must know Lien holder info, i.e., name and address, if LO exist)
  • Bill of Laden
  • G-27 form filed with the State Dept. of Taxation if your vehicle’s year model is the current year model, previous year model or subsequent year model.
  • Fill out and sign an Application for Registration, Form DF-L(MVR) 1
  • Pay HI registration amount for the 12 month period following the expiration of the current OOS registration

 

Note:  Taxes and fees are charged on an annual basis commencing when the out-of-state registration expires, there is no-proration for registrations which expire during the month.