County of Kauai, State of Hawaii
Bringing Government to the People

site map   |   location
Kama'aina Visiting Government (You are here) Business E-Services  
Kauai County Government: Kauai County government resources and information.  
  Menu Controls»   Expand All   Collapse All   Complete Site Map   Bottom of page menu

  Welcome to the Planning Department Minimize

The Planning Department advises the Mayor, Planning Commission, and the County Council on planning and land use matters for the County of Kauai. The Department is also responsible for the administration and enforcement of the Zoning and Subdivision Ordinances, as well as the County's planning program, which includes long-range and regulatory policy documents like the General Plan and Comprehensive Zoning Ordinances.


  Announcements Minimize
Digital Intake Policy for Planning Determination Requests - Friday, June 28, 2013

Beginning July 15, 2013, the Department will no longer intake and process any written inquiries requesting a Director for Departmental Determination on potential and existing permit or zoing requirements without the required new form, "Determination Request Form", now available in "Quick Links" or in "Planning Resource Documents".

Read the new policy here.


Attention: New NCU Renewal Form available online - Wednesday, February 13, 2013

TVR-NCU permit holders must fill out the new 2013 TVR-NCU Renewal Application form, now available online on the Transient Vacation Rental page.  


New Special Management Area Rules are online - Thursday, November 17, 2011

The new Special Management Area Rules are available here. These rules regulate shoreline activities in accordance with HRS 205A and are effective November 5, 2011.


  Quick Links Minimize
  About Minimize

Photo of Michael Dahilig, Planning Director 

Michael A. Dahilig

Planning Director


Dee Crowell
Deputy Planning Director
Kauai County Planning Department
4444 Rice Street., Ste A473
Lihue, Hawaii 96766
Phone: (808) 241-4050
Fax: (808) 241-6699
Front Counter Hours:  8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

(Monday through Friday, except for Holidays)