Click on a link below to see more information

Registration records of all vehicles/motorcycles/trailers in Hawaii must be updated annually.

Annual fees are defined by HRS 249 and are based on the vehicle weight and usage. They are computed by the Treasury Division, Motor Vehicle Section.

Deadline for registering vehicles is the last working day of the expiration month of the current registration. However, if the registration expiration date occurs on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the delinquent renewal penalty fee will not be charged until after the next working day. (HRS 249)

Penalty will be assessed if fees are not paid on or before the expiration date. The penalty shall be 20% of the County Weight Tax and 20% of the State Weight Tax. (HRS 249)

Paying by mail or in person, the following payment types are accepted:

  • Cash or check (drawn in U.S. funds), money order, or cashier's check.
    There is a $30.00 service fee for returned checks.
  • Credit or debit cards are accepted only for online renewals and kiosk renewals.

Important Documents

  • Proof of Hawaii motor vehicle insurance is required to obtain a Periodic Motor Vehicle Inspection (PMVI)
  • Periodic Motor Vehicle Inspection (PMVI) sticker and certificate is necessary to operate a vehicle on all Hawaii roads and for all vehicle ownership-registration transactions.

Non-resident active duty military personnel must submit a properly completed Non-Resident Certificate, Form DF-L(MVR) 50 and safety inspection for each registration, renewal or transfer transaction.

*Form DF-L(MVR) 50 is available from your military personnel office or your military unit.

Mopeds: $27.50 flat registration fee and safety check with your renewal notice or current registration

Change of address is common between Motor Vehicle Registrations. Residents are strongly encouraged to notify the Motor Vehicle Licensing office within 30 days of a mailing address change. This ensures reminders of vehicle registration will be sent to the correct address. Residents may also visit the County's Motor Vehicle Licensing offices to update their mailing address. Notice of Change of Address

The Notice of Change of Address form can be mailed in to our office; emailed to kauaimvr@kauai.gov, placed in the drop box outside of the office or processed in person with an appointment Book Your Appointment.

NOTE: A Driver's License change of address must be updated separately.

**IMPORTANT NOTICE**

ALL OPTIONS FOR REGISTRATION RENEWALS WILL REQUIRE:

  • THE CLEARANCE OF ALL HOLDS
  • COMPLETION OF A PERIODIC MOTOR VEHICLE INSPECTION (PMVI)

Community Based Kiosks:

Please follow the kiosk instructions to renew your registration.

Kiosks are found at:

  • Lihue Safeway (4454 Nuhou St. Lihue, HI 96766)
  • Kapaa Safeway (4-831 Kuhio Hwy. Kapaa, HI 96746)
  • Ishihara Market (9894 Kaumualii Hwy, Waimea, HI 96796)
  • Scan the bar code found on your registration renewal notice or
    • Type in your vehicle license plate number into the kiosk. 
    • Payment can be made with all major credit cards or debit/credit cards. 
    • The kiosk will instantly print your registration card with emblem upon confirmation of payment.
    • If experiencing errors, please follow the instructions on the kiosk.or

Online:

Drop Box:

  • Located outside of the DMV (Kapule Bldg.) on the wall. 
  • Please place your renewal notice and form of payment in an envelope in the drop box.  Please ensure that you have a valid safety check and all holds have been cleared before submitting or the renewal will be rejected until they are completed.
  • Mail will be received that business day and your registration card with emblem will be mailed to you in approximately 7-10 business days.

Pay by mail:

  • Please mail your registration renewal notice and payment made out to (Director of Finance) to:

County of Kauai
Department of Finance
Treasury Division (MVR)
4444 Rice St., Suite # 466
Lihue, HI 96766-1340

  • Your registration card with emblem will be mailed to you in approximately 7-10 business days.

In person:

  • Bring your renewal notice or your current registration and form of payment (Cash or Check Only) to your appointment.  Please ensure that you have a valid safety check and all holds have been cleared before submitting or the renewal will be rejected until they are completed.
  • Your registration card and emblem will be given to you upon completion of the transaction.

Your vehicle must be registered in the county in which it is being driven. The following lists the requirements to change your vehicle's registration from the Counties of Hawaii, Maui or Honolulu to the County of Kauai:

  1. Complete an Application for Registration (DFL-1).The application must be signed by all the registered owner(s) as indicated on the Certificate of Registration.
  2. Submit the last issued out of county Certificate of Registration.
  3. If no lien holder is indicated, submit the out of county Certificate of Title. If a lien holder is indicated, the registered owner must complete a Conditional Letter of Acceptance.
  4. Submit current or temporary State of Hawaii Certificate of Safety Inspection.
  5. The fee, if required, will be determined by our Customer Service Representative.

The following lists the requirements to switch your out-of-state registration and license plates to a County of Kauai registration and Hawaii license plates:

  1. Complete and sign an appropriate Application for Registration (DFL-1).If the vehicle is registered in more than one name, all owners must sign this form.
  2. Submit the last issued out of state Certificate of Registration.
  3. If no lien holder is indicated, submit the out of county Certificate of Title. If a lien holder is indicated, the registered owner must complete a Conditional Letter of Acceptance.
  4. Submit a bill of lading or shipping receipt which shows the date the vehicle arrived on Kauai.
  5. Upon your vehicle's arrival, obtain a State of Hawaii Safety Inspection Certificate by taking your vehicle, along with your Hawaii Motor Vehicle Insurance Identification card and your Out-of-State Registration to an Official Safety Inspection Station. A temporary Certificate of Inspection will be issued to you. All defects except "Registration" must be corrected.
  6. The owner of every motor vehicle of the current, previous, and subsequent year model bought out-of-state, subsequently brought into the State, is required to submit a G-27 form with the required attachments. Visit their website at State of Hawaii, Department of Taxation for further information.
  7. If we do not have the weight of the vehicle as established by the manufacturer, you may be required to have the vehicle weighed at a state certified scale.
  8. The required fees will be determined by our Customer Service Representative at the time of registration.