PART 2

RULES GOVERNING ISSUANCE OF SPECIAL NUMBER PLATES PURSUANT TO ACT 121, S.L.H. 1969

Rule 2.01 Application and Fee for Special Number Plates

(a) Each person who desires to obtain a special number plate with letters and/or numerals of his choice and arrangement, shall make application therefor on forms furnished by the Director of Finance and submit same together with a fee of \$100.00 to the Director of Finance of the County of Kauai.

(b) The \$100.00 fee for each special number shall be in addition to the following fees: regular plate, plate replacement, plate transfer, and all other fees and taxes, as required under Section 249, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

(c) The Director of Finance may continually accept applications for special number plates and may periodically place an order for such plates.

(d) Upon the issuance of a special number plate, the regular plates must be surrendered to the Director of Finance for safekeeping. The regular plates shall be returned only when they replace the special number plates or after expiration of the particular regular plates. Rule 2.02 Form of Special Number Plates

(a) Special number plates shall conform to the requirements provided for uniform number plates.

(b) Any combination or arrangement of letters and numerals, not exceeding SIX letters and/or inumerals, may be displayed on such plates.

Rule 2.03 Denial of Application

(a) If there is more than one application for the identical plate, the application received first shall be issued the number plate.

(b) If the requested number plate's arrangement of

6

letters and numerals is obscene or misleading in that the public may be reasonably but falsely induced to believe that the vehicle to which the special plates are to be attached is of a special or unique character entitling it to privileges or rights not accorded the general public in its use of our public streets and highways, or that the occupants of said vehicles may possess or be authorized to exercise powers, privileges and rights to which they are in fact and in law not entitled, the Director of Finance may refuse to issue such plate.

(c) The \$100.00 fee shall be refunded if an application for a special number plate is denied.
Rule 2.04 <u>Replacement of Lost or Destroyed Plates</u>

Upon the loss, defacement or destruction of a special number plate, the owner may request for reproduction of the same number plate for a fee of \$20.00. This fee shall be in addition to the payment of all fees and taxes, as required under Section 249, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Rule 2.05 <u>Renewal of Special Number Plates</u>

(a) The Director of Finance shall publish in a newspaper of general circulation a notice of renewal of special number plates.

(b) Such publication shall appear at an appropriate time to permit interested persons to submit application for renewal of special number plates.

(c) Such publication shall contain the period during which applications must be made therefor.

(d) A renewal fee of \$100.00 shall be submitted together with application for renewal. Said renewal fee shall be in addition to payment of all fees and taxes as required under Section 249, Hawaii Revised Statutes. Rule 2.06 <u>Plate Transfer</u>

Special number plates shall be transferable in accord-

ance with Section 249-7, Hawaii Revised Statutes, and any other rule or regulation relating to the transfer of regular plates promulgated by the Director of Finance, including any fees therefor, as prescribed in said Section 249-7 or any other such rule or regulation. Rule 2.07 <u>Appeal</u>

Any person aggrieved by the action of the Director of Finance in not issuing or renewing a special number plate may file an appeal with the magistrate of the District Court of Lihue as provided in Section 286-58, Hawaii Revised Statutes.