COUNTY OF KAUA'I
REAL PROPERTY ASSESSMENT DIVISION
4444 Rice St., Suite A-454 Līhu'e, HI 96766
P:(808) 241-4224 F:(808) 241-6252
Email: rpassessment@kauai.gov
Website: www.kauaipropertytax.com

(Chan	5A_11	1 5 1	1 /	54-11 5	KCC.	5144 6	прс)
(Chap.	5A-11.	т, эн-і	1.4,	5A-11.5,	KUU.	514A-0,	пкз)

Ι



Parcel ID (TAX MAP KEY)

ZONE	SECTION	PLAT	PARCEL	CPR

FILING DEADLINE SEPTEMBER 30TH

CLAIM FOR HOME EXEMPTION

*I occupy this property as my 'principal residence' for at least 271 days from October 1st through September 30th of every year

 roccupy this property as my principal residence for at reast 272 adjoint of october 25t through	reptermet		
 I understand that I'm required to file a 2023 State of Hawai'i Residential Income Tax Return	n (N-11), wi	ith a Kauai County	<pre>/ Address</pre>

 *I am providing Proof of Residency & Age: Valid Hawaii State Issued Driver's License; Hawaii State ID; Resident Alien Green Card with
Residency Claimed ONLY in Hawai'i and a current Kauai Address; or Military Orders indicating assigned station in Hawaii.

I attest by initial, the statements above are true.

HOME EXEMPTION is hereby claimed from Real Property Tax by:

(PRINT OWNER'S NAME)		(SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER)	(DATE OF BIRTH)
(PRINT OWNER'S NAME)		(SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER)	(DATE OF BIRTH)
Home Address			
Mailing Address			
II	PROPERTY	(ATTRIBUTES	
How many dwellings are located	ed on this parcel? Total number	r of living units on this parcel	
A. If more than one dwellin	ng/living unit, indicate the approximate	year built of the dwelling/living ur	nit you occupy:
B. Is any portion of the prop	perty you reside on, used as a rental or	business? Yes Sq ft Ap	oprox. days of year? or No
If Yes, indicate the State/	ave a home exemption on any other pr / Tax Key / Parcel Identification # to cancel my previous Kauai Island exer		
Claiming the property on Kaua'i, in the state	y this property as my/our principal hom as owned and occupied as your principa	al home, certifies that you are not cl er country. The property is not use	laiming any other home d for secondary, temporary or vacation
which the ex • We am/are filing a cla SEPT 30TH p • I certify that as of the Any person who has been allow	s recorded at the Bureau of Conveyance comption is claimed;Initial aim for the home exemption and subm preceding the tax year for which the exe e date of this Application my Kauai Prop yed an exemption has a duty to report to	it it to the Real Property Assessme emption is claimedInitial perty taxes are current Init o the assessor within 30 days after h	ent Division on or before
	shall be cause for disqualification and pe		folge statements in this application may b
	ly misleads the Real Property Assessmen cation to Authorities in violation of Section		false statements in this application may b Statutes. Unsworn falsification is a
	ay result in imprisonment not to exceed		
<u>** 2023 STATE OF H/</u>	AWAI'I INCOME TAX RETURNS AUTOMATIC	DISALLOWANCE.	E TO FILE WILL RESULT IN AN
OWNER'S SIG	SNATURE	OWNER'S SI	GNATURE
Cell Phone	Home Ph	hone	Email Address
Tax Class #	(For O # Total Bldgs # Total L	<pre>ifficial Use) iving Units # Owner-Occup</pre>	vied Bldg #
Approval pending: 🗌 Recor	rdation 🛛 Building 🗌 Tax Deline	quency 🛛 Other:	
Received by	Dated:	20 Effe	ctive 2025 Assessment Year



Documentation No: RPA 004

Revision Level: 09-23-21

Administrative Rules of the Director of Finance Relating to Home Exemptions Section 5A-11.4 of the Kaua'i County Code 1987, as amended

<u>Scope/Purpose</u>. These rules are further intended to ensure that the referenced provisions are applied in a uniform and equitable manner.

Eligibility for Home Exemption. An owner is entitled to a home exemption if the following requirements are met

- \checkmark The property is owned and occupied as of the assessment date;
- ✓ The owner's ownership is recorded at the Bureau of Conveyances in Honolulu on/or before September 30 preceding the tax year for which the exemption is claimed.
- The owner files a claim for the home exemption and submits it to the Real Property Division on/or before September 30 preceding the tax year for which the exemption is claimed;
- The owner files an income tax return as a resident of the State of Hawai'i with a reported address within the County of Kaua'i the year prior to the effective date of the exemption. Non- resident and part-year resident State of Hawai'i income tax returns do not qualify for the home exemption;
- ✓ The owner may not hold a homeowner's exemption or claim a principal home on any other property, whether on Kaua'i, in the state of Hawai'i, in another state, or in another country. Possession of multiple homeowners' exemptions for any given tax year shall result in the revocation of all homeowners' exemptions within the County of Kaua'i for those periods in which the multiple homeowners' exemptions were held. Adjustments and rollback taxes due to the loss or denial of an exemption shall be imposed in accordance to K.C.C. Sec. 5A-11.1(e) and 5A-3.4. Property owners may reapply for a homeowner exemption in the tax year following the revocation;
- In the event that a married couple are living separate and apart in the state of Hawai'i, the qualified exemption
 may be split in half for a maximum period of two years; and
- Property taxes related to this parcel are considered current. No home exemption shall be allowed if taxes on the property are delinquent unless the taxpayer has entered into a payment agreement with the Director and the taxpayer meets the terms of said agreement.

<u>Criteria for determination of "principal" home or residence</u>. In addition to all other applicable requirements of K.C.C. Sec. 5A-11.4 and its implementing administrative rules, the director will rely on the following criteria to determine whether real property is being used as the owner's "principal" home or residence:

- ✓ The address used for Hawai'i residential tax returns, driver's license, car and voter registration, bills and correspondence;
- ✓ Presentation of a valid Hawai'i Driver's License or Hawai'i State ID; and
- ✓ Amount of time used at this residence, which shall be based on a more than 270 calendar days per year (the calendar year shall begin on the date of assessment, October 1, and end on September 30 of the following year).

All requested forms shall be due within fifteen days of being mailed to the owner's last known address, unless otherwise provided by law. It is the owner's responsibility to keep the Real Property Division current as to the owner's last known address.

Forms. To determine whether an owner qualifies or, if already received, continues to qualify for an exemption pursuant to K.C.C. Sec. 5A-11.4, the director may require an owner to complete a form that requests information relevant to the exemption and/or to produce relevant documents. Should the owner fail to complete the form entirely or fail to provide the requested documents or fail to respond, the director may refuse to permit the exemption or, if applicable, disallow the exemption. After reviewing the form or documents, the director may require the owner to provide additional information, if the director deems it necessary to determine if the owner qualifies or continues to qualify for the exemption.