Charter Review Commission

The Charter Review Commission studies and reviews the operation of the County government.  The commission may propose amendments or a new charter to the voters at any general or special election which it deems necessary or desirable.

The Commission consists of seven at-large members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the County Council to staggered three year terms.  The Charter Review Commission sunsets on December 31, 2016.

At the November 8, 2016 General Election, the voters of the County of Kauai voted to establish a permanent Charter Review Commission. (Article XXIV, Section 24.03, Kauai County Charter)  The Office of Boards and Commissions is currently in the process of forming this new commission.

For more information about the duties and responsibilities of the Charter Review Commission, please refer to Article XXIV, Section 24.03, Kauai County Charter .

Meeting Time/Location:  4:00pm, Meeting Room 2A/2B, 4th Monday of each month

Announcements

Friday, October 28, 2016
Explanation of 2016 Charter Amendments

Explanation of Amendments


Wednesday, September 14, 2016
2016 Proposed Charter Amendments

2016 Proposed changes and ballot questions to the Kauai County Charter

Contact Information

Charter Review Commission correspondence may be sent to:

Charter Review Commission
c/o Office of Boards & Commissions
4444 Rice Street, Suite 150
Lihue, HI  96766

Phone: (808) 241-4917
Fax: (808) 241-5127

Commissioners

  • Isaac Cockett
  • Jan Tenbruggencate
  • Ricky Watanabe
  • Galen Nakamura
  • Virginia Kapali
  • Carol Suzawa

Agendas

posted Friday, December 8, 2017
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Monday, November 20, 2017
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Monday, October 16, 2017
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Friday, September 15, 2017
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Monday, November 21, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Monday, September 19, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Tuesday, July 19, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Monday, June 20, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Tuesday, May 17, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Monday, March 21, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Friday, February 12, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting
posted Friday, January 15, 2016
Charter Review Commission Meeting

Minutes

posted Friday, December 8, 2017
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Thursday, October 5, 2017
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, November 28, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, September 26, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, August 22, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, July 25, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, June 27, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, May 23, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, April 25, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Tuesday, April 19, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, March 28, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes
posted Monday, February 29, 2016
Charter Review Commission Minutes

Document Disclaimer

The documents on this webpage are being provided as a courtesy and a public service by the County of Kauaʻi. Users should confirm the accuracy with the official copy available at the Office of Boards and Commissions. While the County of Kauaʻi will strive to keep the information accurate and up-to-date, those people needing an official, accurate and up-to-date copy of documents on this webpage should obtain a hard copy from the Office of Boards and Commissions.