Arborist Advisory Committee

Advises the County Council in determining "exceptional trees" to be reserved for posterity by reason of historical or cultural value, aesthetic quality, endemic status, age, rarity, location, or size.

The Committee consists of two at-large members appointed by the Mayor to a term coterminous with the Mayor and three ex-officio members from the State Forestry Division, the National Botanical Garden, and the Deputy Planning Director.

For more information about the duties and responsibilities of the Arborist Advisory Committee, please refer to the Kauai County Code, Section 22-5.3.

Meeting Time/Location: Meet as needed

For more information on upcoming meetings, please refer to the calendar on the Boards and Commissions home page.


  • Dan Kawika Smith, Chair
  • Lawrence Borgatti, Vice Chair
  • Sarah Bryce, Member
  • Sylvia Smith, Member
  • Jodi Higuchi-Sayegusa, Deputy Planning Director



Browse & search archived Arborist Committee documents, including agendas, meeting minutes, and more


Document Disclaimer

The documents on this webpage are being provided as a courtesy and a public service by the County of Kauaʻi. Users should confirm the accuracy with the official copy available at the Office of Boards and Commissions. While the County of Kauaʻi will strive to keep the information accurate and up-to-date, those people needing an official, accurate and up-to-date copy of documents on this webpage should obtain a hard copy from the Office of Boards and Commissions.