Board of Ethics

The Board of Ethics initiates, receives, hears and investigates complaints of violations of the Code of Ethics, renders advisory opinions or interpretations with respect to application of the Ethics Code, and examines all Disclosure Statements for possible conflicts of interest.  It may also, on its own, file impeachment proceedings in the Circuit Court.

The Board  consists of seven at-large members appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the County Council to staggered three year terms.  Board members are prohibited from active involvement in political campaigns. 

For more information about the duties and responsibilities of the Board of Ethics, please refer to Article XX, Section 20.05. Kauai County Charter; Article XIV, Hawaii State Constitution; and Section 84-35.5, Hawaii Revised Statutes.

Meeting Time/Location:  1:00pm, Liquor Conference Room 3, 3rd Friday of each month


Download Acrobat Reader
Click to download
Adobe Acrobat Reader

Contact Information

Board of Ethics correspondence may be sent to:

Board of Ethics
c/o Office of Boards & Commissions
4444 Rice Street, Suite 150
Lihuʻe, HI 96766

Phone: (808) 241-4917
Fax: (808) 241-5127

Members

  • Mia Shiraishi - Chair
  • Susan Burriss- Vice Chair
  • Mary Tudela - Secretary
  • Ryan de la Pena
  • Dean Toyofuku
  • Maureen Tabura
  • Agendas


    Friday, March 13, 2020
    03/20/20 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting-CANCELLED


    Friday, February 14, 2020
    02/21/20 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, January 10, 2020
    1/17/20 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, December 13, 2019
    12/20/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, November 8, 2019
    Board of Ethics Meeting

    11/15/19 Agenda


    Friday, November 8, 2019
    11/15/19 Agenda

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Monday, October 7, 2019
    10/18/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, September 13, 2019
    9/20/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Thursday, August 15, 2019
    8/23/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, July 12, 2019
    7/19/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Thursday, June 20, 2019
    6/28/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, May 10, 2019
    5/17/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Thursday, April 4, 2019
    4/12/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, March 8, 2019
    3/15/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, February 8, 2019
    2/15/19 Agenda Packet

    Board Of Ethics Meeting


    Friday, January 11, 2019
    1/18/19 Agenda Packet

    Board of Ethics Meeting

    Minutes


    Wednesday, March 18, 2020
    02/21/20 Minutes-Draft

    2020_0221_BOE OP Minutes Draft


    Monday, February 24, 2020
    01/17/20 Minutes

    2020_0117_BOE OP Minutes Approved


    Tuesday, January 21, 2020
    12/20/19 Minutes

    2019_1220_BOE OP Minutes Approved


    Thursday, January 2, 2020
    11/15/19 Minutes

    2019_1115_BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Wednesday, November 27, 2019
    10/18/19 Minutes

    2019_1018_BOE OP Minutes Approved


    Tuesday, October 29, 2019
    9/20/19 Minutes

    2019_0920 BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Wednesday, October 2, 2019
    8/23/19 Minutes

    2019_0823_BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Wednesday, September 4, 2019
    7/19/19 Minutes

    2019_0719 BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Friday, August 23, 2019
    6/28/19 Minutes

    2019_0628 BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Wednesday, July 3, 2019
    5/17/19 Minutes

    2019_0517_BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Tuesday, May 21, 2019
    4/12/19 Minutes

    2019_0412_BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Friday, May 17, 2019
    3/15/19 Minutes

    2019_0315_BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Tuesday, April 2, 2019
    2/15/19 Minutes

    2019_0215_BOE OP Minutes APPROVED


    Tuesday, April 2, 2019
    1/18/19 Minutes

    2019_0118_BOE OP Minutes APPROVED

    Documents

     TitleModified DateSize
    A Guide to Ethical Issues in the Kauai County Government10/6/2014253.45 KB
    Article XIV Hawaii State Constitution5/4/201750.94 KB
    Article XX Section 20.055/4/20178.88 KB
    Code of Ethics1/13/2020162.93 KB
    Complaint Form8/5/200963.62 KB
    Disclosure Form12/30/2019139.78 KB
    Procedures for Filing a Complaint11/9/201157.80 KB
    Rules & Regulations7/22/201397.50 KB
    Section 84-35.5 Hawaii Revised Statutes5/4/201769.16 KB

    Document Disclaimer

    The documents on this webpage are being provided as a courtesy and a public service by the County of Kauaʻi. Users should confirm the accuracy with the official copy available at the Office of Boards and Commissions. While the County of Kauaʻi will strive to keep the information accurate and up-to-date, those people needing an official, accurate and up-to-date copy of documents on this webpage should obtain a hard copy from the Office of Boards and Commissions.