Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission hears and determines appeals made by any individual aggrieved by any action of the director or by any appointing authority; advises the mayor and director of human resources on problems concerning personnel and classification administration; appoints and may remove the Director of Human Resources; adopt rules and regulations to carry out the civil service and compensation laws of the State and County and executes such powers and duties as may be provided by law.

The Commission consists of seven members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the County Council, who shall be in sympathy with and who shall believe in the principles of the merit system in public employment. Of the members appointed, one shall be selected from among persons employed in private industry in either skilled or unskilled laboring positions as distinguished from executive or professional positions.

For more information about the duties and responsibilities of the Civil Service Commission, please refer to Article XXV, Section 15.03. Kauai County Charter.

Meeting Time/Location: 3:00pm, Boards & Commissions Conference Room, Pi`ikoi Bldg. Ste. 300, 1st Tuesday of each month

For more information on upcoming meetings, please refer to the calendar on the Boards and Commissions home page.


  • Jeffrey Iida, Chair
  • Aimee Lorenzo, Vice Chair
  • Robert Crowell
  • Beverly Gotelli
  • Piikea Keyes-Saiki
  • Shelly Konishi
  • Lauren O'Leary

Browse & search archived Civil Service Commission documents, including agendas, meeting minutes, and more


Document Disclaimer

The documents on this webpage are being provided as a courtesy and a public service by the County of Kauaʻi. Users should confirm the accuracy with the official copy available at the Office of Boards and Commissions. While the County of Kauaʻi will strive to keep the information accurate and up-to-date, those people needing an official, accurate and up-to-date copy of documents on this webpage should obtain a hard copy from the Office of Boards and Commissions.