Public Works Department

The Department of Public Works consist of seven divisions: Administration, Automotive Repair Shop, Building, Engineering, Highways & Roads Construction, Solid Waste Management, and Wastewater Management.


Public Works are responsible for the planning, design, and construction of all new improvements to County-owned facilities (excluding Department of Water projects), the maintenance, repair and upkeep of all County facilities, roads, and vehicles; the collection and disposal of garbage and refuse, the collection and treatment of sewage, and the permitting, reviewing and enforcement of various codes and other regulations pertaining to public and private construction work are also responsibilities of this Department.

Facilities managed by the Department of Public Works includes an automobile shop in Lihue, four sanitary sewage facilities - Wailua, Lihue, Eleele and Waimea; a sanitary landfill in Kekaha, and four refuse transfer stations - Princeville, Kapaa, Lihue, and Hanapepe.

Public Works manages three road construction and maintenance base yards - Hanalei, Kapaa, and Hanapepe and are responsible for the maintenance and upkeep of approximately 235 miles of paved roadways and 40 miles of unpaved roadways. 

Public Works also provides repair and maintenance to Kauai's only War Memorial Convention Hall along with many other County facilities (excluding Department of Water).

PDF iconAdmin Rules for Hearing Procedures

Contact Information

photo of Troy Tanigawa
Troy Tanigawa
Acting County Engineer

photo of Boyd Gayagas
Boyd Gayagas
Deputy County Engineer

Public Works Department
4444 Rice Street, Suite 275
Lihue, HI 96766

Tel: (808) 241-4992
Fax: (808) 241-6604


Bookmark this page:

Building Permits Online

Click 2 Gov logo image
Building Permits Online!
Check permit, plan tracking, and inspection status online!

New to permitting? Get Permitting Information HERE!