Monday, December 6, 2021

Face Masks required by Federal Law

Face mask requirement extended through March 18, 2022
Click TSA Requirement for more information.

Carry-On Size Limited to 10" x 17" x 30"
Please carefully review the policy here:  Carry On Items / Prohibited Activities


Thursday, December 9, 2021
New Design for our 2022 Monthly Bus Passes

A new and improved design for our 2022 monthly bus passes will take effect January 1st, 2022. The new passes will have a different color each month and will contain a QR code to link riders to our Kaua‘i Bus website, www.thekauaibus.com, where riders can get live tracking information on bus arrival times.

Prices for bus passes will remain the same, as follows:

• One-day passes at $5

• Monthly passes are $50

• Annual passes are $550


Half-priced discount passes remain available for seniors ages 65 and over, youth ages 7 to 18, and qualified discount card holders when showing proper identification.

Monthly and One-day bus passes continue to be available for purchase at the following locations:

• Menehune Food Mart in Kekaha, Kapahi, and Kīlauea

• Aloha Island Mart at the Kapa‘a Shell Gas Station

• County of Kaua‘i Treasury Division in Līhu‘e

• The Kaua‘i Bus office in Līhu‘e

• At all Big Save and Times supermarkets (non-discount passes only)


Annual bus passes and 10-trip paratransit ticket books are only available at the Kaua‘i Bus office in Līhu‘e.

The current, unused monthly scratch-off passes will be valid through Dec. 31st, 2022 and are nonrefundable.

For more information, please call 246-8110.

Friday, March 13, 2020
COVID-19 Practices

As of Monday, March 9, 2020, The Kauai Bus team has been wiping down all touchpoints on our buses and vans with disinfectant each day.

While all surfaces are clean when a vehicle leaves the facility, it does not remain that way once someone touches the surfaces or coughs/sneezes on them. We need all of our riders to help in preventing the spread of coronavirus. Riders can help by frequently washing their hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds; avoid touching their eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands; covering their cough or sneeze with their elbow; and to stay home when they are sick.

By working together, we can keep our public transportation system and our community as safe as possible.  While we’re doing all we can to ensure a safe and clean environment, we must also ask that riders closely evaluate their own health and take necessary precautions to avoid the spread of disease.

For more information and daily updates, please refer to the following sources:

Hawaii State Department of Health

Kauai Emergency Management Agency

Center for Disease Control


Contact Information

photo of Celia Mahikoa

Celia Mahikoa

Transportation Agency
County of Kauaʻi
3220 Hoʻolako St.
Lihue, Kauai, Hawaii 96766

Telephone: (808) 246-8110 (Voice/TRS)
Facsimile:  (808) 241-6417
E-Mail:  TheKauaiBus@kauai.gov

Bookmark This Page: http://www.kauai.gov/Transportation


Check us out on...

Google Transit
You can now use Google Maps to find directions to a location using our bus service. Choose Transit as the method of travel in Google Maps Directions to plan your route.


For the most up to date service changes check out our Facebook Page



Transportation Agency Overview

The Kaua'i Bus operates a Public (Fixed Route) bus service and a Paratransit (Door-to-Door) bus service from Hanalei to Kekaha daily.


Fixed Route Service: (bus stop to bus stop)

Daily: 5:30 a.m. - 9:45 p.m.
(Sunday through Saturday including most Holidays)

 Each bus has a destination sign on the front and curb side of the bus, displaying the route number.

Although Drivers follow a predetermined schedule, arrival at bus stops may be affected by traffic, operating conditions and route deviations.

For up-to-date bus schedules, please click here.

To apply for an ADA Reduced Fare ID Card please click here.

Paratransit Service:
Paratransit service is available for qualified individuals in the categories below. Service days and hours are the same as public transportation. Reservations are required no later than 4:30 PM the day prior for curb-to-curb pickups.  Reservations can also be emailed to

  • Senior: Individuals must be 65 years and older and registered with the County Transportation Agency..
  • ADA: (Americans with Disabilities Act) - Individuals must be certified and registered as ADA eligible for service.

Printed information is available in alternate formats within seven (7) days of a request.

(paratransit routes that go beyond the ADA 3/4 mile corridor will have seats open to the general public on a space available basis.)

Title VI

 TitleModified Date
Title VI Complaint Form5/6/2016
Title VI Notice6/27/2013