Registration records of all vehicles in Hawaii must be updated annually.
Annual fees are based on the vehicle weight and usage. They are
computed by the Treasury Division, Motor Vehicle Section.
The deadline for registering vehicles is the last working day of the
expiration month of the current registration. However, if the
registration expiration date occurs on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the
delinquent renewal penalty fee will not be charged until after the next working
A penalty will be assessed if fees are not paid on or before the expiration
date. The penalty shall be 20% of the County Weight Tax and 20% of
the State Weight Tax.
Make checks payable to Director of Finance. Proof of Hawaii
motor vehicle insurance is required to obtain a vehicle inspection, and the
vehicle inspection sticker and certificate are necessary to operate a vehicle on
all Hawaii roads and for all vehicle ownership-registration transactions.
Non-resident active duty military personnel must submit a properly completed
Non-Resident Certificate, Form DF-L(MVR) 50, for each registration, renewal or
transfer or transaction.
*Form DF-L(MVR) 50 is available from your military personnel office or your
Registration records of all vehicles in Hawaii must be updated annually. You
can renew your motor vehicle registration in person or by mail. If your
registration is within 45 days of the expiration date, you can renew online at
Hawaii Motor Vehicle
To inquire about a motor vehicle in the state of Hawaii, please go
Or pay by mail to
County of Kauai
Treasury Division (MVR)
4444 Rice St., Ste 466
Lihue, HI 96766-1340
(When mailing the registration application to you, the County provides a
Registering New Vehicles Bought
from Kauai Dealer
You may pay your fee:
- By cash, check, money order, traveler’s check or cashier’s check.
There is a $30.00 service fee for returned checks.
- But not by credit card.
Out of State Permit - must have the
When you buy a new vehicle on Kauai, the dealer will probably have it
registered and licensed for you. But if this service is not
provided, this is what you must do:
- Fill out an Application for Registration, Form DF-L(MVR) 1, which must be
signed by you, the registered owner(s) and countersigned by a licensed Kauai
- Submit a Hawaii Vehicle Inspection Certificate.
- If you are an active duty service member stationed in Hawaii and a
non-resident of this state, you must submit the Non-Resident Certificate, Form
DF-L(MVR) 50, available from your military personnel office or your military
- Vehicle registration personnel will determine the required fees.
- Current out-of-state registration
- Shipping document (Bill of Laden)
- Fill out and sign the Out-of-State Vehicle Permit
- HI safety inspection
In lieu of Out of State permit - RO
must produce the following for vehicle currently registered out of
If your vehicle is registered in Kauai and you have recently received a
renewal application form, you may renew your vehicle registration in person at
the Kapule Building between 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.:
- Title (if available) – need signature of all owners for issuance of HI title
- Current Safety Inspection
- Current out-of-state registration (must know Lien holder info, i.e., name
and address, if LO exist)
- Bill of Laden
- G-27 form filed with the State Dept. of Taxation if your vehicle’s year
model is the current year model, previous year model or subsequent year
- Fill out and sign an Application for Registration, Form DF-L(MVR) 1
- Pay HI registration amount for the 12 month period following the expiration
of the current OOS registration
Note: Taxes and fees are charged on an annual basis commencing
when the out-of-state registration expires, there is no-proration for
registrations which expire during the month.